Equalising audio levels

• Thread starter Deleted member 29227
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 29227

I have many mp3 tracks & would like to try & equalise their sound levels so they're all the same, when playing back, through sonos, or just my desktop, if possible.

I generally convert these mp3s to flac using dBpoweramp 16.1 which seems to raise the levels & the output is a better, clearer sound. I'm no expert with dBpoweramp, or with audio massaging at all by any stretch of the imagination. But, I still get variation in sound levels because the original audio (mp3) sound levels vary.

Is there a simple way to equalise the levels across multiple mp3s without creating distortion, or losing sound quality, prior to converting to flac, or is it just impossible to do? TIA.

There's nothing in the creation of a FLAC from a MP3 that effects sound - it, if anything, just increases file size - you're not the only person to say they do this, but unless the source was FLAC, I don't get why adding superfluous data to a file helps it in any way. It is exactly like waking up and re-saving your digital photos at 10x the file size - why!? The raising of gain/db/encoding through filters is where the 'boost' comes from. Normalising all your files for a uniform volume level will work against that process - similarly, quieter files when boosted may clip.
It's a complicated headache!
Most encoders/similar have a bulk normalise setting (I use exact audio copy for CDs), but I tend to adjust my volume rather than start playing with individual levels of all tracks.
ITunes has the feature built-in as does WMP if you are playing a library of music and don't want to change each track via applied algorithms (ie a software solution rather than physical change to files).
Good luck,
FWD.

You could try Sound Normaliser. You can choose which files you want to normalise FLAC, WAV, MP3 etc. There is a free and a paid for version - the paid for version is peanuts. I rate it!