New Order set to release ‘Lost Sirens’ — 8 outtakes from last album — in December

The Seeker of Good Songs

Well-Known Member

As Peter Hook first revealed in an interview with Slicing Up Eyeballs in August, the since-reunited New Order will release the songs left over from the recording sessions for 2005 swan song Waiting for the Sirens’ Call — in an eight-track CD/LP package called Lost Sirens that is due to be released in December by Rhino Records.

While the project has not yet been announced by the band, Lost Sirens this week began showing up as a CD-and-vinyl package on the sites of online retailers, including and the Japanese versions of mega-retailers Amazon and HMV — which report various release dates in early-to-mid December and display the cover artwork shown above.
The set features “Hellbent,” which appeared on the Total compilation released earlier this year that bridged Joy Division and New Order. But the remaining seven tracks — “Stay With You,” “Sugarcane,” “Recoil,” “Californian Grass (Doomy),” “Shake It Up,” “I’ve Got A Feeling” and “I Told You So” — have not yet been released officially (see tracklist below).
It’s not clear whether Lost Sirens will be released in CD-only and vinyl-only formats. As for the vinyl, mastering engineer Frank Arkwright, who worked with Johnny Marr on the recent Smiths box set, this morning tweeted: “Cutting a new piece of vinyl for New Order, heavyweight vinyl!”
In August, shortly before New Order announced it was reuniting without him, Hook discussed the Sirens’ Call outtakes with Slicing Up Eyeballs, saying he hoped they’d be packaged together with full-length versions of the three short New Order instrumentals — “Exit,” “Hypnosis” and “Get Out” — that appear in Anton Corbijn’s 2007 Ian Curtis biopic “Control.” That isn’t happening, but Hook apparently did succeed in convincing his bandmates to release the outtakes as a standalone set and not as part of a Sirens’ Call reissue.
At the time, Hook said he hoped the outtakes’ release would help bring closure to New Order:
“It would be nice, from my point of view, to get rid of those tracks in the nicest possible way that would at last draw the line under the New Order split-up in 2006. It hasn’t felt clean in any way, to be honest. So I’m hoping the release of the last remaining material will make it a little cleaner.”
That interview came just days before New Order announced it was reuniting without the outspoken bass player. The band — Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris, Gillian Gilbert , 2000s-era guitarist Phil Cunningham and Bad Lieutenant bassist Tom Chapman — played two shows last month, and is slated to perform in London and South America in December.

Tracklist: New Order, Lost Sirens
Side A:
1. “Stay With You”
2. “Sugarcane”
3. “Recoil”
4. “Californian Grass (Doomy)”
Side B:
1. “Hellbent”
2. “Shake It Up”
3. “I’ve Got A Feeling”
4. “I Told You So”
1. “Stay With You”
2. “Sugarcane”
3. “Recoil”
4. “Californian Grass (Doomy)”
5. “Hellbent”
6. “Shake It Up”
7. “I’ve Got A Feeling”
8. “I Told You So”

Top Bottom