The existential philosophy behind "People are the Same Everywhere" - Pop Music Explained

Hi everyone

It’s been so long since I posted on here that I can’t remember my login details! But I do still follow the page via Facebook.

I’m a local journalist and in my spare time I write essays about the meanings behind pop lyrics.

The latest one is about the existential philosophy behind People are the Same Everywhere.

It seems like Morrissey was interested in the ideas of Heidegger during the writing period preceding 2011...

The blog is easy to read and accessible for anyone - hope you like it

https://www.popmusicexplained.com/blog/morrissey-people-are-the-same-everywhere

Hi everyone

It’s been so long since I posted on here that I can’t remember my login details! But I do still follow the page via Facebook.

I’m a local journalist and in my spare time I write essays about the meanings behind pop lyrics.

The latest one is about the existential philosophy behind People are the Same Everywhere.

It seems like Morrissey was interested in the ideas of Heidegger during the writing period preceding 2011...

its certainly about individuality,M will say you are reading too much into it.

Just like Hitler then

McCartney - We all know that people are the same whereever you go

Morrissey - People are the same everywhere

Hi everyone

i enjoyed reading about your ideas. i like that you put the lyrics in a wider context, even a philosophical one.
not sure though, whether we can find morrissey the person and his opinions in the lyrics. i'd rather talk about a lyrical i (could be someone he knows or an invented persona) that finds expression in his words and voice, maybe for the first time in music history. could also be an experiment in trying to give this philosopher a more down-to-earth voice.
anyway, thanks, your analysis made me think.